The Advancing Leadership Blog

June 2014 #Shelfie

Oakville/Toronto TEC Chair, Grace Attard is our next contributor to the #shelfie series and shares reading recommendations from her bookshelf that inspire her as a business leader and mentor. Share your own #shelfie with us on Twitter @TECCanada

 

“The Untethered Soul” by Michael Singer

Simple and profound, this book really had me really get the notion of “what you focus on, expands.” I read it at a time when I needed to raise the consciousness of my thoughts to bring about more hope, positivity and shifts, and it helped me immensely. I now know that we are not our thoughts and being the observer of our thoughts can dramatically change our lives.

 

“The Icarus Deception” by Seth Godin

I love all of Seth’s books – he has a way of nailing leadership, branding and marketing into bite-size, impactful pieces that make perfect sense yet are often not practiced. The Icarus Deception is one of my faves, not only because he chose to quote me in it  (on page 199 – I was very honoured), but because he takes a strong stance for the fact that every entrepreneur and business leader must be an artist (create) and also a producer (ship what she creates).  Seth is again, bang on.

 

“Getting Things Done” by David Allen

This fantastic tool has had many editions but I first picked it up over 10 years ago and it has really taught me “the art of stress-free productivity.” As a multi-tasker with a busy business, active family and important community obligations, this book showed me how to get my “mind like water” – a way to manage all of life’s moving parts into one integrated system and get a control of my time rather than have time control me. Great for all leaders who have lots on their plate… yes, that would be you.

 

“The Trance of Scarcity” by Victoria Castle

Castle’s six phases of abundance-oriented leadership should be the compass for all who want to attract success, happiness and results on a daily basis. By practicing aligning, attracting, receiving, gratitude, generosity and giving, we create an open state of flow to all that we desire.  I believe that in that state, our decisions are better, our leadership is better and our results serve the widest and deepest good.  For those of you held back by “not-enoughness,” this is the next book for you.

 

Other favourites include “Leadership and Self Deception” by The Arbinger Institute, “The Speed of Trust” by Stephen Covey Jr., “Tribes” by Seth Godin, “The Thank You Economy” by Gary Vaynerchuk, “The Four Agreements” by Don Miguel Ruiz and “The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success” by Deepak Chopra.

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

